Customer reviews for State Farm Customer Reviews

State Farm Customer Reviews

Customer Ratings and Reviews for State Farm Brand
Overall rating:
2.591 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(1018 reviews) 1018
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,018 reviews
5 Stars
245
4 Stars
93
3 Stars
105
2 Stars
151
1 Star
424
438 out of 956(46%)customers recommend State Farm.
Customer reviews for Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

State Farm Claims Service is quick and friendly!!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Chris1979
FromPhenix City, AL, USA
Age:25 to 34
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was involved in an auto accident Saturday and by Monday around lunch time I already had a rental car and my vehicle was being taken care of. I am very pleased with State Farm. Such a great company!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Fast Sevice

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Clint26
FromDickinson, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was in an accident on a Sunday and was completely done with the process by the following Saturday. This was Team 22. They were fast and friendly and got me taken care of. I have been with State Farm for close to 20 years and will never look any where else for my insurance needs. Team 22 need a big high five for a job well done!
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

After over 20 years, there is no customer loyalty.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Kelly3
FromFredericksburg, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Our family has had State Farm insurance for almost 20 years. Including my mother in law, over 30. With very minimal claims between 4 families including teenagers over 4 generations; you would think there would be some customer loyalty. Not so. Because of a leaking roof--a claim was made 1 year prier to a move. Only after a contract was put on the new home did the agent let us know that they would not give another home owners policy for 3 years after a claim. What? Are you serious? Sorry--looks like you just lost a lot of customers with multiple policies!
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very bad service.

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
FromIrving, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My family has been with State Farm for more than 30 years. I was also a previous Farmers agent myself for 10 years until I was activated to Iraq for the war. I have my Auto and my motorcyle insured with State Farm Since I been back to the State from Iraq with the US Marine. I didnt have my policy with USAA because I alway like State Farm. So when I purchased my Lexus I have my State Farm Agent in Cali insured my auto policy and my motorcycle policy. She was a great agent. Since I was employed by Lexus I had referred her a lot of my clients when they purchase a new Lexus from me.
Until my job has transfer me to Dallas areas. My Cali agent has contact me and I told her I have moved and would like to transfer my policies to Dallas. So She gave me all the phone numbers agents in the area that I live in. I contact the Johnathan Jackson office. I told Jessica that I need to transfer my policies from Cali to Texas. She told me that she has to contact my agent in Cali and will get back to me. She will call me after she contact my agent in california. I never ever got one phone call back from her. Even though i told my policy was expired on the 01/21/2014. Since she didnt not call me so I called my agent in Cali and find out what going on. She said yes that the office of Johnathan Jackson has contact her request for policies transfer. She was suprise that they never call me and tell me my policies were transfer to Texas. I was driving without insurance on a brand new Lexus. I decide to go with USAA. I would not recommended this agency. This is bad for business. Lyuckily I didnt get into accident with the bad weather in Dallas recently with Ice storm and snow. Bad for business very bad. I guess CSI is not important to them. But in my business is very important.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE TRANSITION AFTER 25 YEARS

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
JenniferC
FromTrussville, AL, USA
Age:45 to 54
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My review is a reflection of our recent experience and not our 25-year experience with our former agent who just retired.
My husband and I have considered our insurance agent part of our family since before we were married. He has insured all of our important valuables for over 25 years. He took us on as clients when we were 22 and 23. He never seemed to care about the big bonus he would get if he saved the company money. He put us first, as I'm sure he did for all of his customers. We didn't have to wait on him; he called on us.
Sadly, He retired this past week, amidst the devastating ice storm. We had no issues with the storm; we simply called to wish him well, That is how we found out about our account being transferred.
State Farm, as far back as I can remember, was about people: the agents visited our home when I was a child (my parents and my husband's parents carried State Farm), they went to church with us, they were family. Now, your agents don't make connections with people. I'm sure some of the ones do who have been in business awhile; however, apparently our new one does not.
Not only have we not heard from our new State Farm agent, the company has not even given him his own website yet. You can Google him and find very little. So, we're being forced to go with a new agent who has no connection to us. We weren't even given a choice to choose our own agent; there are others we would have chosen. We have friends who are agents. This weekend I've been told that we "can change...if we find a problem with the one we've been assigned." What kind of corporation are you running? How asinine to not know your clients any better than to think that would be an appropriate way to handle retiring agents' customers.
I'm sure you all think this is the best way to divvy out clients to help your new agents establish themselves. Guess what? The older agents had to do it the good, old-fashioned way: they earned them. They went door-to-door finding out what people needed. You don't think that's a good model anymore, fine. However, figure out a model that still connects with people. The way our 25-year-old account has been handled is not the right way. We will be doing some comparison shopping; we will end up with someone who cares about our business. That's the way business should be conducted.
Sincerely,
JC
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I don't understand your website

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Robyn
FromDenver, CO
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Your website is confusing and I am finding it very difficult to get the assistance I need. I truly do regret having put our faith and trust in you.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do not recommend

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
FromChicago, IL, USA
Age:25 to 34
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
877-627-5757 This is awful customer service!! And my car is still disabled. But, you drafted the payment as usual:( Relationship with statefarm...customer for now.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Done

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
JeffersonOhio
FromJefferson, OH 44047, USA
Age:55 to 64
Customer Since:11-20 years
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
15 years and I'm shopping for a new company. I've had 3 agents in the last 5 years. I have to chase them down for answers as they never get back as committed.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

State Farm is Hard to Deal With

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
DonnaB
FromBoca Raton, FL
Age:65 or over
Customer Since:Less than 1 year
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We had gotten a better quote from SF so we went with them instead of staying with the ins. co. we had been with for many years. The agents where we bought the insurance were nice and helpful. However, the SF agency in Winter Haven is very slow at handling things. It took many weeks to get ins. cards for our new car. Now we get a nasty (probably a form letter) from the WH branch saying we have to get an Inspection before they will insure us with Comprehensive/Collision (they kept our $$$ though). They told us "you have been notified of the inspection requirement........ WE WERE NEVER NOTIFIED about any such thing. Why does a brand new car need to be inspected??? We're thinking about going back to our dependable company where we had our insurance before we switched from them to SF, even if they cost more. Your Boca Office and your WH office don't seem to be User friendly. I'm wondering what it would be like trying to deal with SF if there were a "problem"!!
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Non existent customer service

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Gregory K P
FromWebster, WI
Age:55 to 64
Customer Since:6-10 years
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been trying to roll a current CD into a new one and have yet to receive signature cards. I've both called and emailed this request to no avail. I have asked that this info. be sent to my WI. address. My next move will be to withdraw this money.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unprofessional

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Lissy
FromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:18 to 24
Customer Since:Less than 1 year
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've been with State Farm for maybe 7-8 months. It's been a terrible experience. I got the insurance it was expensive. Then a few months later my car broke down. So I tried putting my insurance on hold. It took 6+ emails and 5+ phone calls to actually put it on hold. Then I finally got it on hold. Decided to scrap my car for junk since it was junk. Then I'm trying to cancel it since I no longer have my car. I've called them to cancel they sent me the form. I signed it and sent it back the same day. Never gotten a response after sending it. Then emailed them the next day to ask if they got the form, asked a few questions. Still no reply back. Then called the next day the same lady answered told her I sent her multiple emails and the form she said she didn't get any emails. Told her what days then she read me the one email I sent. Never answered my questions. It's been a week and I've emailed them again. If I don't get a response I'm going to call them again. I do not recommend them. Worst experience ever.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Has gone downhill

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Oldguyindiana
FromIndiana, USA
Age:65 or over
Customer Since:30 years or more
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been with State Farm for about 55 years, and have seen it deteriorate signigicantly in the last few years. They are hiring agents that seem to have little training and little regard for customers. I now am with a long time agent and hope that helps, but I won't hold my breath. I suggest that the brass talked to some of the retired agents and get an idea how they maintained the companies' reputation for customer service.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best insurance reps by far at this location!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Gillentine01
FromHorn Lake, MS, USA
Age:25 to 34
Customer Since:6-10 years
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been dealing with State Farm for years now. Brenda at this office is amazing and knows myself and my husband by name as soon as we call in. She makes everything super easy for us and I have NEVER had any issues with them at all. I am not fond of having to call the corporate office. If it wasn't for my agent and his employees and how amazing they are I would not deal with State Farm. Their corporate could learn from their agents on how to treat customers. Thank you Brenda!
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Used to be a great company

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Justin06
FromFlorida, USA
Age:25 to 34
Customer Since:6-10 years
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Been with SF for 7 years now, i always thought they were a great company with excellent customer service. State Farm always handled issues promptly, until now. after 27 days my car is just now starting to get repaired after another driver smashed into the rear end of my car. Did i mention the repairs are scheduled to take 21 days? so it will be 48 days without my car!!!! The other driver didnt have enough coverage so i was forced to use my insurance. in 1 day i was passed around to 7 different customer service people and no one could answer simple questions about my claim. I was told i am not able to speak to a supervisor because she wouldnt know any more than the rep knew, i was told i was not allowed to speak to the estimator who looked at my vehical. pretty much the worst experice ive had with insurance companies. i would compare this new state farm with a low budget company like Direct. the only reason i still would recommend is the coverages are very good for the price. Also i have switch to Progressive.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely poor customer service

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
JimTX
FromHumble, TX, USA
Age:25 to 34
Customer Since:6-10 years
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am so far very displeased with the level of customer service from State Farm. When I call my adjustor to handle my claim, she seems focused on making sure (multiple times) I know that I must meet my deductible in order for State Farm to pay on the claim. She also seems to be overly focused on pointing out all the applicable caps and limits on my policy.
I recognize these things exist and are important (I am not an idiot), but the adjustor showed no tact and when I asked her to focus on helping me report the claim and not focus on the deductibles and limits, she disregarded my request. She then proceeded to preface every sentence by mentioning the deductible. It was not until I told her I was hiring servepro to document my claim did she seem to show interest, and it only seemed to be because she then thought I was serious about reporting a major loss (focused on the bottom line $ much are we?)
Having a fire destroy your prorperty is very stressful and my adjustor did not make it a pleasurable experience to deal with State Farm.
Finally, when I called technical support to report issues with working with my claim online, the "technical support" said they could not help me and referred me to the adjustor. They seemed completely disinterested in wanting to help me.
That said, I like my local agent and staff, but the State Farm organization is sorely lacking in customer service.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lost my agent and it went downhill fast.

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Lost Agent
FromOhio
Age:25 to 34
Customer Since:11-20 years
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My agent retired and I tried to contact the new agent to get information of coverage changes only to be told no one could help me for 2 days. I tried the 800 number and they just sent me back to the agents office. I tried online, but I could not make the changes I needed to make. I used to reccommend them to everyone but since my Agent retired I got to see what happens when you lose a stellar agent and get stuck with the run around.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my agent and his better half

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
FromJustin, TX 76247, USA
Age:45 to 54
Customer Since:21-30 years
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using the same agent since 1989. This is the reason I stay with State Farm. They take care of me and know me personally.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what it used to be

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Sad Lifer
FromEugene, OR, USA
Age:45 to 54
Customer Since:30 years or more
State farm is the only insurance I have ever used, for all of my needs, for over 35 years now. I am sorry to say that I am currently looking into other companies due to the awful service I now get from State Farm. It started getting bad when our agent retired and we were passed on to a new agent. Then she quit or moved and we were left with NO AGENT for sometime, and not even made aware of this! I found out when we got new insurance cards with no agent listed on them and questioned it. They then gave us another agent that has treated us much less than satisfactory! It wasn't terrible until we added our Daughter, with a good student discount, to our policy. When the renewal came due, before the beginning of the new school year, we could only submit a letter we had received from the school that congratulated her on her continuing acceptance of honors for her high gpa required, since there were no new grades yet. I faxed a copy of this, as requested, but they never gave me the discount back!! I also noticed that they were basing part of our policy amount on the number of miles driven annually, which was recorded at 2 to 3 times what it should have been, so I corrected that, submitted the current mileage reading on the car, as requested, and asked that the policy be adjusted accordingly for this also. this adjustment, also, has NEVER been made! I sent several e-mails to my agent and he has NEVER responded to any of them!!! We have talked about adding other insurances to our State Farm policies, but I've been so unhappy with how they've treated us with our two auto policies that I am not at all comfortable going to them for my other insurances. I have been putting this move off for a long time, hoping it would get better, but when I was rear ended by another State Farms insured who was texting at the time she hit me, and again as we were leaving the accident which resulted in myself and my, at that time minor aged, Daughter both getting whiplash. I was advised by a third party not to go in for further medical check up since the whiplash was minor, even though we had a lot of pain and some other problems, since both parties were insured by State Farm, or our rates would go up for sure, even though I was in no way at fault!!! Between that and the current treatment of being ignored on the good student discount and lower mileage usage discount, I see no option but to look for a new insurance company. My other policy holder has been with them 40 years or more. Sad!!
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Cindy52
FromLouisiana, USA
Age:45 to 54
Customer Since:30 years or more
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Recently had to file a claim and I am very disappointed with service on claim! I am still waiting for claims to receive accident report. I was told request had been sent to sheriffs office. Sheriffs office says they have not recieved it. I called claims back and they say they can not send another request. I called my local office and yes I am going to have to go to sheriffs office pay them for copy of report and then go somewhere and pay to fax report! Why am i doing their job? I think its time to find another insurance company. Been with State Farm for over thirty years!
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Customer Reviews
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

State Farm Cancelled My Insurance but Continued to Draft My Account

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Theodore
FromPlano, TX, USA
Age:35 to 44
Customer Since:11-20 years
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After three unfortunate comprehensive claims (no collisions) resulting from hit and run accidents and one theft, State Farm cancelled my auto insurance. I promptly switched my auto and home owners to another carrier and had my local State Farm agent's office on the phone confirming all the new coverages, cancellations and effective dates. Then, a month later State Farm came in and drafted my account for premiums despite the cancellations. Now I have to wait 10 days for a refund!?! Not such a good neighbor after all.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 51 next>>