Customer reviews for State Farm State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card

State Farm State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card

Overall rating:
4.148 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 155 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
8
1 Star
13
123 out of 148(83%)customers recommend State Farm.
Customer reviews for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Review 1 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great customer service & online banking

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
wsugirl33
FromDayton, OH
Age:18 to 24
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After getting turned down by many banks, etc. due to no credit history - State Farm Bank offered me a student visa with a low limit. I couldn't be happier with how easy the online banking is, along with the great customer service I have as well. Since opening the card, I was able to build my credit so I could get a loan for a dependable car to get me through college.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a great way to build credit

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Grad2013
FromPhiladelphia, PA, USA
Age:18 to 24
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I first got the card it was for college loan applications. I had no credit and no way of getting credit, however with the State farm Student Credit Card I have been able to build a credit history and hope to be able to use it for graduate school soon. and the services make it easy to keep on top of things, with there monthly payment text messages.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great customer service

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer avatar
brittain91
FromChattanooga, TN
Age:18 to 24
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When calling to speak with a representative, you don't have to wait for a long time to speak with someone; a representative is on the phone almost immediately. The representatives are friendly and very helpful. The online banking could stand to be more user-friendly, but overall I am very satisfied with SFB service so far. :)
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

State Farm Student Card

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Leahx5
FromSpencer, WV 25276, USA
Age:18 to 24
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The State Farm Student Visa is so awesome! Being a nursing student, I do not always have money right off hand for things. This card gives me the security of being able to get a tank of gas when I need it! I love the fact that they will not let you exceed 500.00 in one month! It lets you have the freedom of a credit card without the freedom to spend an unlimited amount! Great!
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Painless online banking

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
BostonClem
FromNew London, PA 19390, USA
Age:18 to 24
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a recent college graduate with no credit history, I was nevertheless quickly approved (with a cosigner) for a modest credit limit and low APR relative to my potential risk as a new customer. Online banking is very important to me, and State Farm's online banking is painless, intuitive, and simple. I have had no issues. I rated security as "average" because unlike the bank with which I have a checking account, State Farm does not ask for any identifying information beyond username and password when logging on-- no security questions or other gimmicks-- and passwords/usernames can be stored so that you have to type nothing in order to access your account-- just hit "sign in." While I appreciate how quickly I can login, I do have to wonder if banking online with State Farm is the most secure option available. Of course, that being said, I have had no actual issues with security or privacy or I wouldn't still be with State Farm.
In short, State Farm's student visa card is an easy way to build a credit history as long as you have someone with good credit willing to operate as cosigner.
Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unimpressed.

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Cody66
FromCleveland, OH, USA
Age:45 to 54
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We obtained a State Farm Student Credit Card for our son, who is a freshman in college. The experience trying to open the account was poor. We had to submit a lot of documentation to prove his identity and home address. We then had to send a copy of his social security card, which was rejected by State Farm b/c it wasn't signed. This was the same social security card that was accepted by the State Department to issue him a passport. Once the credit card account was opened, we were unable to pass the security questions to verify identity to gain access to the account. My husband has insured many houses for his business through State Farm over the years. The security questions all pertained to those houses. Unfortunately, our son does not have any information about when those homes were built, who bought them, or who financed them. When I called State Farm, they unhelpfully informed me that all of this information was a matter of public record and we could look it up. I don't know why we couldn't use our son's personal information to verify his identity or provide answers to questions he had chosen like other credit card issuers and banks. It's been a major headache and completely frustrated the intent, which was to teach my son how to use a credit card. We will be closing this account as soon as he obtains credit with someone else. It's too much of a hassle. State Farm does insurance really well….banking and credit cards….not so much.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

State Farm Rewards

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer avatar
sankeman
It's hard to find out on the State Farm page how to request my Visa rewards on-line. I have to call. Other than that, I am well pleased with State Farm.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i like online payments

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Ward66
FromCharlottesville, VA, USA
Age:65 or over
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This doesn't concern a payment option, but instead I wish I able to see a summary of all accounts from a previous year for tax purpose deductions in my rental business. Just make them available next to list of individual accounts. It's a real pain to go back and separately retrieve each premium from each file. Thanks, I hope this available next tax year.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No Rewards

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
BCole11
FromIL
Age:18 to 24
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a good card to establish credit, but there aren't many rewards (i.e. cashback or points) and the APR is a little high. Unfortunately the only way to "change" the rewards program is by applying for a brand new card and having separate accounts.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great service

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Texokie
FromOK
Age:55 to 64
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like State Farm service!
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Credit Card and Bank

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Mike1962
FromShreveport, LA, USA
Age:45 to 54
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I have been with State Farm for years. I have to say some companies take their long standing customers for granted and only focus on new business. Not with State Farm Bank and Insurance. They continue to surprise me with user friendly website that includes all of our accounts from Insurance to checking and savings. They have gone above and beyond in offering Turbo Tax free/discounted to their customers. I will never leave them, and continually refer friends and family to them.
My wife and I Thank You all.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

state farm visa

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
tp69
FromRacine, WI
Age:45 to 54
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Convenience 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can't pay my state farm visa from this site, no matter what I do.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
Response from State FarmBy CarlieCustomer CareJanuary 15, 2014
I'm very sorry you were having trouble setting up a payment online! I hope Angie from our Customer Care team was helpful when she contacted you.

Paying your credit card online is a very easy and convenient tool that we offer! To set up a payment online use the following instructions:

1. Log in to your account on
www.statefarmbank.com.
2. You will be taken to the My Accounts page. Click on your State Farm Bank Credit Card that you wish to pay on.
3. You will then be taken to the Review Transactions screen.
4. Pay Bill functionality can be accessed by either clicking on the Payments tab at the top or by clicking on the Pay Online link in the left navigational pane toward the bottom.
5. If you have not yet set-up a payment account (savings or checking account) you will first be prompted to add a payment account.
6. Follow the instructions to enter your payment account information. Click on Submit once you have entered all the necessary information.
7. Click on Make a Payment to set up a payment towards your State Farm Bank Credit Card using the payment account you just set up.

I hope this helps! And as always, if you have any questions or need assistance please call us at 877-SF4-VISA (877-734-8472).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Credit Card access

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Very upset
It is very difficult to monitor my account when you continually send me to some site regarding 40% off.
It now requires me to make 2 or more attempts at gaining access to my account.
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

State Farm Bank has great customer service

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Delb
FromStowe Twp, PA
Age:65 or over
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just signed on with help of your representative and changed my username, password, and internet address. It was a snap
Thanks
Satisfied customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Online access way behind the times

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Tuls
FromTulsa
Age:45 to 54
Customer Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Convenience 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Online access often not available, it's slow,
and missing several auto pay features
No, I do not recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Why don't you offer a way to automatically pay my monthly credit card bill?

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
All nicknames are used
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why don't you offer a way to automatically pay my monthly credit card bill? Other credit card companies due.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
Response from State FarmBy CarlieCustomer CareDecember 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We do have the option to get enrolled in auto pay! Just call us at 877-SF4-VISA (877-734-8472).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

State Farm is very kind

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Mikie 64
FromWapello, IA 52653, USA
Age:55 to 64
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because of a recent illness and layoff from work I needed to take advantage of the Premier Credit Protection Plan. I was treated with utmost kindness and friendliness by the staff in Miami. Thank You.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

state farm bank has great student visa

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
ericka 21
FromColumbia, SC, USA
Age:18 to 24
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Convenience 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
im very pleased with my student visa account
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Statefarm student card is amazing!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
FromNaples, FL, USA
Age:18 to 24
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This card is must have for college students that want to start building credit.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for State Farm® Student Visa® Credit Card
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY!

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
nessa
FromKnoxville, TN, USA
Age:25 to 34
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this card a long time, one of the best customer service, easy to make payments on.
Yes, I recommend State Farm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>